5 Things I Love This Week – 15th May 2017

In this series, I like to post the things I have enjoyed the most this week. It could be an item, a song, a playlist, could be anything.  I publish one every Monday.

1. Peckham Rye Music Festival

This weekend was nice and sunny so me and some friends went off to Peckham Rye Music Festival. Most of the music was house, there were food stalls, stages in small areas and bars everywhere. The music is not usually my thing but it was a nice atmosphere in Copeland Park and the Bussey Building. My favourite part of it was being on the rooftop stage for the Axel Bowman set. It got quite busy and the music was very good. It continues next weekend so if you are in the area, check it out!

2. The Beach Boys

For a long time in my life, I have loved the Beach Boys. The love for them comes in ‘waves’…. *silence*…

When I was around 8 years old, my family took a trip to France. As we were driving down towards the Mont Blanc area, we were incredibly bored of not being able to understand half the music on the radio. We stopped at a supermarket and found one English CD we recognised….The Very Best of the Beach Boys. That album on repeat for our entire journey made my feelings for the Beach Boys and their songs fluctuate, a lot! Eventually we all ended up loving them. I have made a Spotify Playlist this week with all those songs on (and one other). Enjoy!

3. DuoLingo

I keep meaning to learn French but keep putting it off. Duo Lingo is an iPhone/Android app that teaches you the language of your choice, in small lessons. I have used this app in the past but keep forgetting to keep it up. Well I have now discovered they have a PC app, this makes things a little easier so I can practise in my lunch break. There is also a feature where you can join clubs with your friends and it creates a competitive atmosphere with leaderboards and XP points. I had a notification telling me I am 7% Fluent yesterday (Yay…I think), so hopefully I can keep it up!

4. Water!

Usually, I get to the end of the day and think: ‘I need a very large glass of water’ and realise I have been neglecting to drink most of the day. Let me start off by saying this is incredibly bad for you, however I had an epiphany this week. I now have a 750ml bottle of water on my desk at work at all times, I have been filling it at least three times a day to make sure I am getting my 2 litres. And boy do I feel better for it. More energy in the evenings and no spots! This water thing may be worth it! :p

5. Banana Bread

Final thing today, my first weekend in my new flat where I am fully moved in. It was awesome and we all had a big clear up. Then I made Banana Bread with one of my flatmates. It was so gooey and yummy! I found the recipe on Pinterest for ‘Unbelievably Moist Banana Bread’ and no wonder, it had 5 eggs and 5 banana’s in it! But it came out amazingly and made 2 loaves! We are working our way through it now. Here is a link to the recipe.

 

And that’s it for this week. I’ll leave you with a nice sign I saw on my way home from work on Friday night

ffff0fea-fe9e-45c2-9154-15d5c9ddb5d8

🙂

Leave a Reply

